RWA Cathie Linz Librarian of the Year

The RWA Cathie Linz Librarian of the Year is awarded to a librarian who demonstrates outstanding support of romance authors and the romance genre.

To nominate a librarian for the RWA Cathie Linz Librarian of the Year award, click here or email


2018 RWA Cathie Linz Librarian of the Year

Fran Strober Cassano, North Bellmore Public Library, North Bellmore, NY

Fran Cassano


Fran Strober Cassano is an adult reference librarian, dedicated to all that is romance and erotic genre fiction for the North Bellmore Public Library in North Bellmore, New York. She is also an advocate of libraries and for genre collection development on the state and local levels. Frannie is a contributor over at Library Journal’s Xpress Reviews writing reviews for their E-Originals section. She has been a contributor over at Scandalicious Book Reviews doing OverDrive and Libby app recommendations. She has presented at the RT BookLovers Convention, and she has been invited to give talks on libraries at local RWA chapter meetings.


Past Recipients of the RWA Cathie Linz Librarian of the Year Award

  • 2017: Danielle King, Alafaya Branch Library, Orange County Library System, Florida
  • 2016: Robin Bradford, Timberland Regional Library, Washington
  • 2015: Lisa Schimmer, NoveList
  • 2014: Sean Gilmartin, The Anythink Library, Thornton, Colorado
  • 2013: Sarah Whitten, Bangor Public Library, Bangor, Maine
  • 2012: Mary Moore, Huntsville-Madison County Public Library, Huntsville, Alabama
  • 2011: Wendy Crutcher, OC Public Libraries, California
  • 2010: Jennifer Lohmann, Durham County Library, Durham, North Carolina
  • 2009: Deborah Schneider, King County Library System, King County, Washington
  • 2008: Susan Gibberman, Schaumburg Township District Library, Schaumburg, Illinois
  • 2007: Valerie Luna, Spotswood Public Library, Spotswood, New Jersey
  • 2006: Michele Drovdahl, Sammamish Library
  • 2005: Joanne Hamilton-Selway, Scottsdale Public Library, Scottsdale, Arizona
  • 2004: Lynne Welch, Herrick Memorial Library, Wellington, Ohio
  • 2003: Ann Smith, Gahanna, Ohio Public Library
  • 2002: John Charles, Scottsdale, Arizona, Library System
  • 2001: Shelley Mosley, Velma Teague Branch Library, Glendale, Arizona
  • 2000: Joyce Saricks, Downers Grove Public Library, Downers Grover, Illinois
  • 1999: Dr. Alison Scott, Popular Culture Library, Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, Ohio
  • 1998: Beverly Earls, Memphis Shelby County Public Library, Memphis, Tennessee
  • 1997: Jeffrey Gegner, Hennepin County Library, Minnetonka, Minnesota
  • 1996: Kristin Ramsdell, California State University, Hayward
  • 1995: Mary K. Chelton, Milltown, New Jersey

Historical note: This award was established in 1995 to honor librarians who go above and beyond in their support of the romance genre, its authors, and readers. In 2015, the award was renamed the RWA Cathie Linz Librarian of the Year.