RWA Lifetime Achievement Award

One of the highest honors RWA bestows is the Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is presented to a living author in recognition of significant contributions to the romance genre. To qualify for the award, the recipient's career in romantic fiction must span a minimum of fifteen years. Recipients must in some way continue to promote the romance genre, teach romance in fiction, or publish romantic fiction. In 1994 a new requirement was added, that recipients must maintain active RWA membership. Authors are nominated for the award by RWA members and selected by the Board of Directors.

To nominate a member for the RWA Lifetime Achievement Award, click here or email


2018 RWA Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Suzanne Brockmann

Suzanne Brockmann

Suzanne Brockmann is the New York Times best-selling author of fifty-seven novels, including her award-winning Troubleshooters series about Navy SEAL heroes and the women—and sometimes men—who win their hearts. Her favorite book is All Through the Night, in which her most popular character, FBI agent Jules Cassidy, marries the man of his dreams. In 2007, Suz donated all of her earnings from this book to MassEquality, in perpetuity, to help win and preserve equal marriage rights in Massachusetts.  Her latest novel is SEAL Camp, available in e-book and print from Suzanne Brockmann Books. 


Past Recipients of the RWA Lifetime Achievement Award

  • 2017: Beverly Jenkins
  • 2016: Robyn Carr
  • 2015: Carole Mortimer
  • 2014: Bertrice Small
  • 2013: Mary Jo Putney
  • 2012: Brenda Jackson
  • 2011: Sharon Sala
  • 2010: Debbie Macomber
  • 2009: Alison Hart
  • 2008: Vicki Lewis Thompson
  • 2007: Linda Lael Miller
  • 2006: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
  • 2005: Linda Howard
  • 2004: no award given
  • 2003: Heather Graham
  • 2002: Maggie Osborne
  • 2001: Robin Lee Hatcher
  • 2000: Rita Clay Estrada
  • 1999: Rosalyn Alsobrook
  • 1998: Sandra Brown
  • 1997: Nora Roberts
  • 1996: Anne Stuart
  • 1995: Jayne Ann Krentz
  • 1994: Ann Maxwell, aka Elizabeth Lowell
  • 1992: Mary Stewart
  • 1991: Barbara Mertz
  • 1990: Phyllis A. Whitney
  • 1989: Eleanor Burford Hibbert
  • 1988: Kathleen Woodiwiss
  • 1987: Patricia Maxwell, aka Jennifer Blake
  • 1986: Roberta Gellis
  • 1985: Virginia Myers
  • 1984: Ethel Bangert (Virginia Mann)
  • 1983: Virginia Nielsen McCall

Historical Note: from 1983 through 1989 the award was called the Golden Treasure. In 1990, the name was changed to the Lifetime Achievement Award. It was called the RWA Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award from 2008 to 2018.